Dates of Interest – NHL 2012-13 season.

With the NHL’s shortened ’12-’13 season finally underway, here’s a quick look at some notable dates in the season calendar.

Wednesday, January 23 – NBC Sports Network begins its “Rivalry Wednesdays”, as the Boston Bruins visit the NY Rangers (7.30 PM ET).

Saturday, February 9 – Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada tripleheader on CBC from Peterborough, Ontario.

Sunday, February 17 – NBC Hockey Day in America tripleheader (two games on NBC, one on NBC Sports Network).

Wednesday, April 3 – NHL Trade Deadline (3 pm ET). Because of the shortened season, it’s been moved to early April. It will return to late-February/early March starting next season.

Saturday, April 27 – NHL regular season ends.

Monday, April 29 – NHL Entry Draft draw. Starting this season, every non-playoff team gets a shot at the first overall pick in the draft lottery .

Tuesday, April 30 – Stanley Cup Playoffs begin.

May 27 – June 1 – NHL Draft Combine in Toronto.

Saturday, June 1 – Deadline for teams to sign any unsigned draft choices.

Friday, June 28 – The latest possible date for the conclusion of the 2013 Stanley Cup playoffs.

Sunday, June 30 – Held at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey. All seven rounds of the 2013 NHL entry draft will reportedly take place on this single day, rather than over two days as in recent years. It’s expected the draft will return to its usual Friday-Saturday set-up in 2014. 

No formal dates have been released yet for the NHL Awards, or the start date for unrestricted free agency. It’s believed the latter could begin on July 5 for this year. It will be July 1 for every year under this CBA starting in 2014.