It’s only a week into the 2011-12 season, but now’s as good a time as any to post an updated list of the notable NHL players who’ll be eligible for restricted and unrestricted free agent status next summer.

Keep track of these names over the course of this season. It’ll be interesting to see how many will still be unsigned when next July 1st rolls around, especially given the uncertainty over the status of the next round of collective bargaining between the league and the NHLPA.

It’s also possible a few of them might become “trade bait” come this season’s trade deadline.


Still the subject of trade speculation.

Zach Parise and Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils

Alexander Semin, Washington Capitals.

Nicklas Lidstrom and Niklas Kronwall, Detroit Red Wings

Ryan Suter and Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators.

Shane Doan, Phoenix Coyotes

Ales Hemsky and Ryan Smyth, Edmonton Oilers.

John-Michael Liles and Mikhail Grabovski, Toronto Maple Leafs

Josh Gorges, Montreal Canadiens

Tomas Vokoun, Washington Capitals.

Dustin Penner, LA Kings

Dwayne Roloson, Tampa Bay Lightning

Brad Boyes, Buffalo Sabres


Can the Predators afford to keep Weber?

Shea Weber, Nashville Predators.

Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens

Mike Green, Washington Capitals.

Matt Duchene and Erik Johnson, Colorado Avalanche

David Krejci, Boston Bruins

Chris Stewart and T.J. Oshie St. Louis Blues.

Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

Evander Kane, Winnipeg Jets

Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins

Cory Schneider, Vancouver Canucks

Kris Versteeg, Florida Panthers

James Neal, Pittsburgh Penguins